The Virtual Bookcase for browsing and sharing reviews of books. New to this site? Read the welcome page first.
The Virtual Bookcase Home
Recent reviews
Collected book news
Welcome to this site
Add your own book

The Virtual Bookcase : Other website book news/reviews

New York Times

Fiction: Three Lives, and the Tenuous Ties That Bind Them In “Asymmetry,” Lisa Halliday weaves the tale of a May-December love affair into the account of an Iraqi-American economist detained at Heathrow.
Books News: A Prisoner Got a Book Deal. Now the State Wants Him to Pay for His Imprisonment. Curtis Dawkins, a fiction writer who is serving a life sentence for murder in Michigan, says his children shouldn’t have to pay for his sins.
Nonfiction: How We Got From Twinkies to Tofu In “Hippie Food,” Jonathan Kauffman tracks the emergence of the organic, politicized diet so many Americans love today.
Nonfiction: The War That Will Not End In “Directorate S,” Steve Coll recounts America’s seemingly futile search for victory in Afghanistan.
Q. & A.: Tell Us 5 Things About Your Book: Inside the Fevered Minds of Sports Fans To write “Superfans,” George Dohrmann spoke to everyday fans, academics and scientists about what it is that drives our vicarious competitive mania.
Nonfiction: Arrested at 12, She’s Now an Activist Fighting for Social Justice Patrisse Khan-Cullors’s memoir, “When They Call You a Terrorist,” recounts the life of a Black Lives Matter co-founder.
The Book Review Podcast: Lisa Halliday on ‘Asymmetry’ Halliday discusses her debut novel, and Naomi Novik and Gerald Jonas remember the life and work of Ursula K. Le Guin.
Lerone Bennett Jr., Historian of Black America, Dies at 89 Mr. Bennett, the author of “Before the Mayflower” and other books, was also a top editor at Ebony magazine for decades.
How Does a Political Reporter Write a Memoir? First, Read Books. A Lot of Books. A reporter who spent a decade covering Hillary Clinton’s presidential campaigns talks about her adjustment to book leave and finding the “foreign land where writers live.”
Fiction: Two Novels Trace Parallels Between Past and Present, or Create Them “The Maze at Windermere,” by Gregory Blake Smith, imagines Newport, R.I., from the 17th century to today. “Peculiar Ground,” by Lucy Hughes-Hallett, does the same for a British estate.
Inside the List: After Setting Her Hair on Fire, Lisa Gardner Decided to Become a Writer It was the 1980s, she was waitressing, “and there was a lot of Aqua Net involved. I took the hint. No more food service. Lots more time at the keyboard.”
Fiction: What Would It Be Like to Be 400 Years Old? In Matt Haig’s new novel, “How to Stop Time,” the narrator — born in 1581, and still alive today — seems to be having a midlife crisis.

New York Times Sunday book review

Fiction: Three Lives, and the Tenuous Ties That Bind Them In “Asymmetry,” Lisa Halliday weaves the tale of a May-December love affair into the account of an Iraqi-American economist detained at Heathrow.
Nonfiction: How We Got From Twinkies to Tofu In “Hippie Food,” Jonathan Kauffman tracks the emergence of the organic, politicized diet so many Americans love today.
Nonfiction: The War That Will Not End In “Directorate S,” Steve Coll recounts America’s seemingly futile search for victory in Afghanistan.
The Shortlist: 3 Books to Help You Understand Millennials and Beyond Whether it’s the modern labor market, a selfie obsession or loneliness brought on by cellphone addiction, here’s what’s wrong with young people.
By the Book: Kristin Hannah: By the Book The novelist Kristin Hannah would like to discuss women’s history with Margaret Atwood, Hillary Clinton and Ruth Bader Ginsburg. “Let’s face it, the Notorious R.B.G. is just plain cool.”
Nonfiction: Arrested at 12, She’s Now an Activist Fighting for Social Justice Patrisse Khan-Cullors’s memoir, “When They Call You a Terrorist,” recounts the life of a Black Lives Matter co-founder.
The Book Review Podcast: Lisa Halliday on ‘Asymmetry’ Halliday discusses her debut novel, and Naomi Novik and Gerald Jonas remember the life and work of Ursula K. Le Guin.
Editors’ Choice: 11 New Books We Recommend This Week Suggested reading from critics and editors at The New York Times.
Poetry: For Lawrence Ferlinghetti, Nearly 100, the Beat Goes On A retrospective collection from the poet and publisher, “Ferlinghetti’s Greatest Poems,” gets at his rebellious appeal.
Ivory Tower: Science’s Inference Problem: When Data Doesn’t Mean What We Think It Does Three new books on the challenge of drawing confident conclusions from an uncertain world.
Match Book: Dear Match Book: Authors I Can Binge-Read Seeking authors with a spate of books I can consume one after another without coming up for air.
Nonfiction: Why Did Christianity Prevail? Bart D. Ehrman’s “The Triumph of Christianity” looks at how a new religion conquered the Roman Empire.
Crime: Fans of Easy Rawlins and Leonid McGill, Meet Joe King Oliver Walter Mosley leads off the Crime column, followed by a first novel set in rural Cornwall and series prequels from Charles Finch and Trudy Nan Boyce.
Fiction: Two Novels Trace Parallels Between Past and Present, or Create Them “The Maze at Windermere,” by Gregory Blake Smith, imagines Newport, R.I., from the 17th century to today. “Peculiar Ground,” by Lucy Hughes-Hallett, does the same for a British estate.
Inside the List: After Setting Her Hair on Fire, Lisa Gardner Decided to Become a Writer It was the 1980s, she was waitressing, “and there was a lot of Aqua Net involved. I took the hint. No more food service. Lots more time at the keyboard.”
Fiction: What Would It Be Like to Be 400 Years Old? In Matt Haig’s new novel, “How to Stop Time,” the narrator — born in 1581, and still alive today — seems to be having a midlife crisis.
Children’s Books: One Part Fantasy, One Part Reality Is a Child’s Perfect Formula In the Dory Fantasmagory books, Abby Hanlon finds the humor — and the coping strategies — in a young heroine’s shifting line between imagination and reality.
Search The Virtual Bookcase

Enter a title word, author name or ISBN.

The shelves in The Virtual Bookcase

Arts and architecture (25)
Biography (24)
Business and Management (120)
Cars and driving (53)
Cartoons (45)
Children's books (180)
Computer (475)
Computer history/fun (113)
Computer networks (382)
Computer programming (215)
Computer security (272)
Cook books (89)
Fantasy (154)
Fiction (446)
Health and body (71)
History (138)
Hobby (37)
Horror (65)
Humorous books (52)
Literature (57)
Operating systems (94)
Outdoor camping (162)
Outdoors (236)
Politics (85)
Privacy (61)
Psychology (55)
Religion (17)
Science (113)
Science Fiction (156)
Self-help books (56)
Technology (14)
Travel guides (308)
War and weapons (29)
World Wide Web (213)
Zen (5)
Other books (89)
Mailing list
Subscribe to booktalk, the discussion list about books at The Virtual Bookcase.
Enter your e-mail address to subscribe (you will receive an e-mail to confirm your subscription):


The Virtual Bookcase is created and maintained by Koos van den Hout, webmaster@virtualbookcase.com.
Site credits
Copyright © 2000-2005 Koos van den Hout / The Virtual Bookcase Copyright and privacy statement